The term "voyeurism" refers to the practice of gaining sexual pleasure from watching others when they are naked or engaged in sexual activity.
The voyeurism statute in Utah was last amended during the 2017 General Session. Under Utah law, the penalties for voyeurism depend on a variety of factors including whether the act involved video recording another person and whether the defendant has any prior convictions for a similar offense.
If you were charged with voyeurism or video voyeurism under Utah Code Section 76-9-702.7, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City, UT, to discuss your case.
We can help you understand the charges pending against you. We represent clients charged with a wide range of sexually motivated crimes in Salt Lake City, UT, and the surrounding areas including voyeurism or posting revenge porn online.
Contact us to find out the best ways to fight the charges and ways to avoid the typical penalties. Call (801) 532-5297 today.
Back to top
Under Utah Code Section 76-9-702.7(4), a person can be charged with voyeurism when the person views or attempts to view an individual, with or without the use of any instrumentality, under the following circumstances:
Under Utah Criminal Code 76-9-702.7(4), the crime of voyeurism is classified as a class B misdemeanor. The penalties are enhanced to a class A misdemeanor if the crime is committed against a child under 14 years of age.
Back to top
In the State of Utah, a person is guilty of voyeurism when the person intentionally uses any type of technology to secretly or surreptitiously record video of a person:
A violation of Subsection (1) of Utah's Voyeurism is a class A misdemeanor. If the offense of voyeurism is committed against a child under fourteen (14) years of age, then the crime can be charged as a third-degree felony.
Back to top
The distribution or sale of any images, including in print, electronic, magnetic, or digital format, obtained during the offense of voyeurism by transmission, display, or dissemination can be charged as a third-degree felony.
The penalties are enhanced if any of the images are of a child under 14 years of age, then the violation can be charged as a second-degree felony.
Back to top
Use the form above to request your free, confidential case evaluation. Our office will contact you as soon as possible to arrange for you to discuss the facts of your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah.
Note: By submitting the above form, you are requesting a free and confidential consultation with one of our attorneys to discuss the specific facts of your case. We will evaluate your unique situation and provide you with valuable information about how an attorney may be able to help you. Please do not provide any confidential or time-sensitive information using this online contact form. If your situation is urgent, please call us at (801) 532-5297. We look forward to hearing from you.
The use of this form for communication with our personnel does not establish an attorney-client relationship.
Mark has represented our son for over ten years. We have a difficult situation but we have never doubted that Mark, and now, Mike, care about him and our family. Their caring advice has been a lifeline for us.
Mike Holje was there for me and helped me get the charges dismissed. He was fantastic. I am so thankful for this firm.
Jim Bradshaw worked with me on a case and was helpful, realistic and very professional. I found him to be one of the best attorneys (and person) I have encountered.
I used Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat and would recommend them to anyone. Everyone in his or her office is kind, efficient and very responsive. You are treated respectfully and on an equal playing field.