For many, cash has been tight this year and the holidays are upon us, so it’s not a huge surprise that shoplifting cases have surged this month. Most people know shoplifting as a form of retail theft, but there are a number of other shoplifting-related activities that could land you in hot water with a retail theft charge. Here are four things you should know about retail theft and the potential consequences associated with retail theft charges in Utah.
According to the Utah code for retail theft, the actions below qualify as crimes of retail theft. These bullets are summaries of the specific items in the code. You can visit the official code website for the full explanations.
Retail theft crime charges range from class B misdemeanors to second-degree felonies. Generally, the determining factor for the charge is the amount of property or services that was stolen.
Theft of property or services valued at less than $500. This is the most common retail theft charge in Utah.
Theft of property or services valued between $500 and $1,500 is usually charged as a class A misdemeanor in Utah
Theft of property or services valued between $1,500 and $5,000 is usually charged as a third-degree felony in Utah. Additionally, a third-degree felony charge may be issued if an offender has been convicted twice in the past ten years of any actual or attempted theft, robbery, fraud, or burglary with intent to commit theft.
Theft of property or services valued at more than $5,000 is usually charged as a second-degree felony in Utah. Additionally, theft of items like a firearm or vehicle, regardless of the total value, is often classified as a second-degree felony in Utah. The same is true for any theft committed while the offender is armed with a weapon.
As with most crimes, the penalties for retail theft are listed according to maximums. A judge will determine exactly what an offender’s penalty will be. Below are the basic punishments associated with the classifications of crimes listed in the previous sectio
No matter what you have been charged with, you deserve to have your rights protected. A free consultation with the criminal lawyers at Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat will help you determine the best course of action for your case. Our defense team has handled retail theft cases for decades, and we help clients charged with both misdemeanor and felony theft cases in Salt Lake County and many other counties throughout Utah.
Contact us at (801) 532-5297 if you have questions about theft charges, or if you are ready to talk about the best way to defend your retail theft case.
Use the form above to request your free, confidential case evaluation. Our office will contact you as soon as possible to arrange for you to discuss the facts of your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah.
Note: By submitting the above form, you are requesting a free and confidential consultation with one of our attorneys to discuss the specific facts of your case. We will evaluate your unique situation and provide you with valuable information about how an attorney may be able to help you. Please do not provide any confidential or time-sensitive information using this online contact form. If your situation is urgent, please call us at (801) 532-5297. We look forward to hearing from you.
The use of this form for communication with our personnel does not establish an attorney-client relationship.