8 Things to Know About Utah’s Sex Offender Registry

In Utah, the sex offender registry also includes kidnapping offenders. Utah’s registry is called the Utah Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry.

The laws surrounding the registry are long and detailed. We have compiled eight common questions about the Utah sex offender registry in Utah and explained the basics of each one.

For full details surrounding the laws and the registry, you can visit the Utah Department of Corrections and the Utah State Legislature websites.

1. How many sex offenders are registered in Utah?

The Utah Department of Corrections maintains the following statistics. They were last updated August 12, 2020.

Probation and Parole: 2,037

2. What locations are off-limits to convicted sex offenders?

According to Utah law, there are five protected zones that are off-limits to convicted sex offenders:

  1. Licensed daycares or preschools
  2. Swimming pools open to the public
  3. Public or private primary/secondary schools (not on grounds of a correctional facility) 
  4. Community park open to the public
  5. Playground open to the public

3. How long do offenders stay on the Utah registry?

Depending on the severity of the crime, registered sex offenders in Utah may be on the registry for either 10 years or life. For more info on which convictions carry which penalty, see our sex crimes page. Additionally, there are certain crimes that allow an offender to petition for a reduction of five years (see #6 below).

4. What are the requirements for registering?

The Utah Department of Corrections manages the state's Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry. However, the department only monitor’s compliance of those who are actively supervised by Adult Probation and Parole (AP&P). All other offenders are monitored by local law enforcement. The following registration requirements are from the Utah Department of Corrections.

Requirements for Registering

  1. Out-of-state offenders must register within 10 days of entering the state, regardless of the length of stay.
  2. Offenders under AP&P supervision shall register with AP&P.Offenders no longer under AP&P supervision shall register with the local law 
  3. enforcement (police department or sheriff's office).
  4. 4. Offenders must register twice each year — once during his/her birth month, and once again six months later.
  5. Registration requirements last for the duration of the sentence and the following 10 years after termination of the sentence. In more serious cases, a convicted offender may be required to register for life (as outlined above). Offenders must register within three business days of every change of primary residence, any secondary residence, place of employment, vehicle information, or educational information.

Qualifying Offenses

The list below is an abbreviated list of offenses. For the full list of qualifying offenses, see Utah Code Ann. 77-41-102 (9) and (17).

A charge for conspiring, soliciting, or attempting any of these offenses is also included as a qualifying offense.

5. What conditions must sex offenders in Utah abide by?

There are two separate lists of conditions for sex offenders in Utah depending on the victim of the crime. The following rules apply to sex offenders who are under supervision of AP&P and the Utah Department of Corrections in Utah.

Conditions for Offenses Victimizing a Minor

There are 14 conditions for sex offenders of minors who are under AP&P supervision. The conditions include things like completion of sex offender therapy, curfews, prohibited contact with victim(s) or victim’s families, no contact with children under 18, required approval to date anyone with children under age 18, random polygraph examinations, and employment approval. Click here for the link to the full list.

Conditions for Offenses Victimizing an Adult

There are 10 conditions for sex offenders with adult victims who are under AP&P supervision. The conditions include things like completion of sex offender therapy, curfews, prohibited contact with victim(s) or victim’s families, random polygraph examinations, and employment approval. Click here for the link to the full list.

6. Can offenders get off the registry early?

Some offenders may be eligible to petition the court for early removal from the Utah Sex Offender & Kidnap Offender Registry. Five (5) years after completion of their sentence, people convicted in Utah of any of the qualifying offenses below can petition for removal:

7. Does the statue of limitations apply to sex crimes in Utah?

According to Utah law, the normal four-year statute of limitations period for a felony does not apply to certain sexually motivated offenses. A person may be charged with any of the following offenses at any time:

8. How do I find a good defense lawyer for my sex crime case?

The lawyers at Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat have years of experience and proven results in Utah sex crime cases. If you have been charged with a sexually motivated crime or kidnapping crime of any severity, we can help protect your rights and defend your case. We can also help you determine whether you qualify to reduce your time on the Utah sex offender registry and/or help you petition for removal.

Contact us at (801) 532-5297 if you have questions about sex crime laws in Utah or if you are ready to get started on your case.

Schedule a Free Consultation

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Use the form above to request your free, confidential case evaluation. Our office will contact you as soon as possible to arrange for you to discuss the facts of your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah.​

Note: By submitting the above form, you are requesting a free and confidential consultation with one of our attorneys to discuss the specific facts of your case. We will evaluate your unique situation and provide you with valuable information about how an attorney may be able to help you. Please do not provide any confidential or time-sensitive information using this online contact form. If your situation is urgent, please call us at (801) 532-5297. We look forward to hearing from you.​

The use of this form for communication with our personnel does not establish an attorney-client relationship.