Theft Crimes in Utah
Under Utah law, a person commits theft if he "obtains or exercises unauthorized control over the property of another with a purpose to deprive him thereof." (Utah Code Ann. § 76-6-404). Theft means that a person unlawfully takes someone else's property with the intent to keep it for some period of time or not return it to the rightful owner.
Utah criminal statutes also contain a number of other specific types of theft offenses including theft by extortion, theft of lost, mislaid, or mistakenly delivered property, and receiving stolen property.
A conviction for any type of theft charge, even a misdemeanor, is considered a "crime of dishonesty." A conviction for a "crime of dishonesty" comes with a lifetime of consequences that last long after the criminal case is resolved in court.
Attorney for Theft Crimes in Salt Lake City, Utah
If you were arrested for theft in Salt Lake City or anywhere else in Utah, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your case. The attorneys at Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat, LLP are familiar with Utah's theft laws and the best defenses in these types of cases.
Our clients come to us from all over the State of Utah. We are prepared to help with cases throughout Salt Lake City, Provo, Orem, West Valley City, West Jordan, Sandy or other Utah communities.
Call (801) 532-5297 to talk with a criminal defense lawyer at Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat, LLP today.
Types of Theft Crimes in Utah
In Utah, the law provides for various types of theft crimes that can include:
- theft of services under § 409;
- theft of utility or cable television services under § 409.3;
- theft of lost, mislaid, or mistakenly delivered property under § 407;
- theft by extortion under § 406;
- theft by deception under § 405;
- theft of motor vehicle fuel under § 404.7;
- theft by a person having custody of property pursuant to repair or rental agreement under § 410;
- theft of a rental vehicle under § 410.5; and
- receiving stolen property under § 408.
Classification and Penalties for Theft in Utah
Class B Misdemeanor Theft:
Theft of property or services valued at less than $500 is usually charged as a class B misdemeanor in Utah. The punishment for a class B misdemeanor in Utah includes imprisonment for a term of no more than six months and a fine of no more than $1,000.
Most shoplifting or retail theft offenses in Utah are charged as a class B misdemeanor when the value of the property stolen is less than $500.
Class A Misdemeanor Theft:
Theft of property or services valued at more than $500 but less than $1,500 is usually charged as a class A misdemeanor in Utah. The punishment for a class A misdemeanor in Utah includes imprisonment for not more than one year and a fine of not more than $2,500.
Third-Degree Felony Theft:
Theft of property or services valued at more than $1,500 but less than $5,000 is usually charged as a third-degree felony in Utah.
Also, theft can be charged as a third-degree felony in Utah if, within the past 10 years, the offender has twice been convicted of any kind of actual or attempted theft, robbery, fraud, or burglary with intent to commit theft.
The punishment for a third-degree felony in Utah includes imprisonment for a term of not more than five years and a fine not to exceed $5,000.
Second-Degree Felony Theft:
Theft of property or services valued at more than $5,000 is usually charged as a second-degree felony in Utah.
Other theft offenses classified as a second-degree felony in Utah, regardless of the value of the property stolen, include theft of a firearm or motor vehicle, and any theft committed while the offender is armed with a weapon.
The punishment for a second-degree felony in Utah includes imprisonment for a term of not more than 15 years and a fine of not more than $10,000.
Statutes for Theft in Utah - Visit the Utah State Legislature website to read more about the different types of theft charges in Utah. The Utah State Legislature website also explains more about the classifications of theft crimes and information on penalties for people with prior convictions.
Retail Theft Statute in Utah- Visit the website of the Utah State Legislature to learn more about shoplifting and retail theft under Utah’s criminal code including definitions, the acts constituting retail theft, detention of suspected violators by merchants, penalties, and theft of detection shield devices.
Find a Theft Crimes Attorneys in Salt Lake City
The criminal lawyers for property crimes in greater Salt Lake City at Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat, LLP have been handling theft cases for decades. We understand the need to protect your rights at every stage of the case.
Our clients come to us from all over the State of Utah. We help clients charged with misdemeanor and felony theft cases in Salt Lake City, Provo, Orem, West Valley City, West Jordan, Sandy or other Utah communities. Contact Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat, LLP now if you have any questions about theft charges, or if you are ready to talk about the best way to fight the charges.
This article was last updated on Tuesday, July 5, 2016.