Failure to Appear Warrant
Did you miss a court date in Salt Lake City, Utah? If so, the judge may have issued a "failure to appear" warrant for your arrest.
Upon a defendant's failure to appear, the court is required to issue a bench warrant and to direct that the surety be given notice of the nonappearance. Utah Code Ann. § 77–20b–101(1). The clerk of court must then do the following:
- send notice of the failure to appear to the surety by certified mail;
- notify the surety of the prosecutor's contact information, and
- provide notice to the prosecutor of the failure to appear.
Attorney for the "Failure to Appear" Warrant in Salt Lake City, Utah
If your case is in "failure to appear" status, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah, at Brown, Bradshaw & Moffat, LLP. Our attorneys can help you formulate the best strategy for resolving your warrant and the underlying criminal charge. Let us put our experience to work for you. Call us at (801) 532-5297 today to discuss your case.
Utah Warrants Requiring Transportation Between Counties
Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, warrants for the following offenses will require transportation from the county in which the defendant is arrested:
- class A misdemeanors; and
- class B misdemeanors charged under Utah Code Title 76 Chapter 5 (Offenses Against the Person), Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 5 (Weapons), and Title 41, Chapter 6a, Part 5 (Driving Under the Influence and Reckless Driving).
Unless otherwise ordered by the court, warrants for the following offenses will require transportation only within the county from which the warrant originates:
- class B misdemeanors not included in the felony, class A and B Misdemeanors noted above; and
- class C misdemeanors.
Additionally, under CJA Rule 4-701(1), a $50 bail increase may be assessed when the delinquent notice is sent to the defendant for failure to appear within 14 days. Under CJA Rule 4-701(2), the $75 bail increase may be assessed when the defendant has failed to appear or pay bail within 40 days of the date of citation and a warrant is issued. The Administrative Office of the Courts helps the courts calculate the surcharge on delinquent enhancements.